The original homesteaders on this land came from Denmark. The farm was passed down in the Nielsen family from 1903 until they sold to Bob Penner in 1971. The barn was built in 1914 as part of a mixed farming operation. From 1914 to the end of 1941 the barn was used for the horses that worked the land. In later years it was home to dairy cows and hogs. The barn received power in 1947, a cement floor was poured in 1964 and by 1968 the barn was no longer in use. It still stands as a testament to the hard work and determination it took to settle the land.